Sourced from Wikivoyage. Text is available under the CC-by-SA 3.0 license.
Borneo is the third largest non-continental island in the world (after Greenland and New Guinea). The island is located in Southeast Asia, straddling the equator. It's sparsely populated and famous for ancient rainforests filled with wildlife, including several primates and various rare and endangered species. The island also has extensive caves and rivers.
It is divided into three parts, administered by separate countries:
a tiny oil-rich monarchy occupying two small portions of the northwestern coast
East Malaysia
the Malaysia part, occupying the northern third of the island
the Indonesia part, occupying the central and southern regions

Some islands that are part of the Philippines — Palawan and the Sulu Islands — are geographically close to Sabah, and have some things in common with Borneo in flora, fauna, history and culture.

Get in