County Fermanagh

Sourced from Wikivoyage. Text is available under the CC-by-SA 3.0 license.
County Fermanagh (Irish: Contae Fhear Manach) is a largely rural county in the south-west of Northern Ireland and is famed for its numerous lakes. County Fermanagh belongs to the province of Ulster and is one of the six counties that form Northern Ireland. It is Northern Ireland’s western most county and covers an area of 1,691 km². Its capital (County Town) is Enniskillen housing the tourist attractions of Enniskillen Castle, Cole's Monument, the Ardhowen Theatre and Saint Macartin's Cathedral.
County Fermanagh is a rural area and therefore agriculture and tourism are the most important industries. The agricultural land is mainly used for hay and grazing than for other crops. The two lakes Upper Lough Erne and Lower Lough Erne are separated by the county's capital and linked to the river Shannon.

Towns and villages

Other destinations

Get in

Get around




Stay safe

Go next