County Mayo

Sourced from Wikivoyage. Text is available under the CC-by-SA 3.0 license.


County Mayo (Irish: Contae Mhaigh Eo, "Plain of the yew trees"), on the west coast of Ireland and the third largest county in Ireland, is often overlooked by tourists. While it may not have the dramatic scenery of Kerry, or the fame of Connemara or The Burren, it has it own special charm. It has wilderness in abundance; it's emptiness is indeed quite special. Perhaps one of the best reasons to come here is that few other people do.


Other destinations

Get in

Get around