Lisbon Region

Sourced from Wikivoyage. Text is available under the CC-by-SA 3.0 license.
Daniil Vasiliev

The Lisbon Region is the region surrounding Lisbon, the capital of Portugal. It consists of municipalities located on both banks of the wide mouth of the Tagus (Tejo) river where it meets the Atlantic Ocean. The region includes a variety of localities—from historic towns and cities, to ports, industrial areas, beach resorts, and natural reserves. It offers a varied mixture of holiday opportunities to visitors, as they can engage in beach activities, various active sports, and do a fair share of sightseeing.
Portugal has a multi-layered and complicated system of administrative divisions that is not always useful for visitors. Therefore, for this guide, the definition of the Lisbon Region used by the European Union NUTS system is used, which covers most of the territories of Portugal's traditional districts of Lisbon (north of Tagus) and Setubal (south of Tagus).



Get in

Get around





Stay safe

Go next