Malay phrasebook

Sourced from Wikivoyage. Text is available under the CC-by-SA 3.0 license.
Malay (Bahasa Melayu) is the sole official language of Malaysia and Brunei, and one of the four official languages in Singapore. Standard Malay (bahasa baku, which literally means "standard language", and formally called Bahasa Melayu Baku) is closely related to Indonesian, and speakers of both languages can generally understand each other. The main differences are in the loan words: Malay was more influenced by English, while Indonesian was more influenced by Dutch.



Pronunciation guide

Phrase list