Sourced from Wikivoyage. Text is available under the CC-by-SA 3.0 license.
Monmouthshire (Welsh: Sir Fynwy) is a historic county in the south east of Wales, adjacent to the English counties of Gloucestershire and Herefordshire. It is sometimes known as Gwent, which was a medieval Welsh kingdom situated in roughly the same area, though the two regions' borders don't quite match up. Monmouthshire is well known for its pastoral scenery, particularly along the Wye Valley and at the borders of the Brecon Beacons, and historic towns and villages such as Monmouth, Abergavenny, and Tintern, the site of a 12th-century Cistercian abbey.

Cities, towns and villages



Get in

Get around


Go next