Nenagh is the most populous town and county seat of the county of North Tipperary (formerly Tipperary North Riding).
The town is accessed form the N7 Limerick Dublin road and the N52 Nenagh Dundalk Road) and from a local rail line ( Dublin Limerick -Via Nenagh)
The town is compact enough to explore on foot a car would allow one to visit the lakeshore at Dromineer or Garrykennedy or travel further afield.
The town prospered in the 19th century and both the Church of Ireland (Protestant/Anglican) and Roman Catholic communities erected highly regarded Gothic masterpieces of their time. Much of the town has well-proportioned buildings albeit somewhat disfigured by modern shopfronts and signage
phone: +353 67 33 850A 12th-13th century castle. Its massive tall circular Donjon or Keep is unique in Ireland and of a type rare in either the UK or France. The building has stone spiral stairs to the top. There are 101 steps in all to the top. Children under the age of 18 must be accompanied by an adult.
- St Mary's of the Rosary Catholic Church is a neo-gothic church and was built in 1895 to a design by architect Walter G Doolin. It was constructed by John Sisk using Lahorna stone and Portroe slate with the Portland stone of the arches being the only imported material.
- The adjacent St Mary's Church of Ireland Church was built in 1862 to a design by the architect Joseph Welland (1798–1860) and features a stained glass window from the studio of Harry Clarke. The building is striking in its simplicity in contrast to its larger and more ornate neighbour.
- A ruined 13th-century Franciscan friary church in the town centre was once the principal friary in Ireland. It carries a fading memorial erected with great solemnity in the 1790s to martyrs allegedly killed in Cromwellian times. Later it was discovered the whole story was a 19th-century hoax! The Annals of Nenagh were written here.
- The town's main square is named Banba Square on account of the legend that the Goddess Eiru (or Ireland) appeared to Amergin leader of the Milesians in the form of Banba of the herds near where the town now stands to bless the Milesian Celts in their enterprise to take over Ireland. It is dominated by the mid 19th-century Doric magnificence of the restored County Courthouse complete with a (slender) bronze statue of lady justice on the pediment. She replaces her portly predecessor who had to be removed in the late 19th century as she was causing cracks in the stonework!
- Near the square is the former county jail converted into a museum and genealogical centre.
Visit the heritage centre in the county jail. Its feature on executions in the 19th century is well worth a look.
Farmers Marketaddress: Kenyon StEvery Saturday.
cafe Qaddress: Pearse St
The Peppermilladdress: Kenyon St
phone: +353 67 31118address: William St4-star quality approved accommodation. 3-min walk to centre of Nenagh. Private car park. Free wifi. Complimentary refreshments on arrival.
address: Burrisokane RoadAn 18th century country house offering visitors B&B accommodation. Set in 76 acres (30 ha) of beech woodland and formal gardens, the historic country house B&B sits on the shores of Lough Ourna close to Nenagh town.