QuanahNorth Central Plains region of Texas.
Quanah was named after Quanah Parker, known as the last chief of the Comanches. His mother, Cynthia Ann Parker, was captured in 1820 by the Comanches. She became assimilated into the group, marrying a Comanche and having children, of whom Quanah was the first. She was later "rescued" by the white settlers in a location near Copper Breaks south of town, and never allowed contact with her husband or children again, starving herself to death two years later. Quanah went on to lead a large band of Comanches in attacks against hunters and the US Army in an effort to retain tribal lands and save the great buffalo herds, which the whites were mercilessly and wastefully killing off at an alarming rate. He participated in many famous battles throughout the Panhandle, including the Second Battle of Adobe Walls, near modern-day Borger. When finally cornered at Palo Duro Canyon in 1875, Quanah's band was the last group of free Plains Indians to be forced onto a reservation, bringing an end to the Red River War. Quanah subsequently became something of an advocate for westernization, quickly learning English and Spanish and converting to a form of Christianity. He was eventually named chief of all the Comanche people. By 1905 he was parading with Geronimo in the inaugural parade for Theodore Roosevelt, with whom he went on occasional hunting trips. Quanah Parker is now buried at Fort Sills in Oklahoma.
The nearest commercial airport is in Wichita Falls
Hardeman County Museumaddress: 105 Green StThe lower floor of this old jail, built in 1891, has been transformed into exhibit space, while the second floor preserves original jail cells.
Quanah Acme and Pacific Depot Museumphone: +1 940 663-5272address: 100 Mercer StA recently refurbished branch of the county museum.
Quanah Memorial Park CemeteryWith a 160-year history, the cemetery has graves including that of Texas Ranger Captain Bill McDonald and that of Joe Earle, who was killed by Indians even before the founding of the town.
Quanah Parker MonumentOn the Courthouse Square.
Quanah RocketThis US Army meteorological rocket was named after the city in honor of Quanah-born Research Meteorologist Kenneth R. Jenkins who served in the Upper Atmosphere Tech Area at White Sands Missile Range in New Mexico.
Quanah City Poolphone: +1 940 663-8196address: 403 Good StCool off at the local municipal swimming pool.
Quanah Ranch Rodeophone: +1 940 663-2222Held on the last weekend of June.
Past & Presentphone: +1 940 663-6300address: 1800 E 11th St
Rustic Relicsphone: +1 940 663-2119address: 210 W 11th St
Briscoe Family Restaurantphone: +1 940 663-2036address: 1500 W 11th St
Dutch's Restaurantphone: +1 940 663-2435address: 1501 W 11th St
Ken's Restaurantphone: +1 940 663-2392address: 302 West 11th St
Medicine Mound Depot Restaurantphone: +1 940 663-5619address: 1802 Highway 287 E
Red's Drive-Inphone: +1 940 663-5087address: 103 E 11th St
Seventh & Main Espresso Cafephone: +1 940 663-5341address: 610 S Main St
Best Western Quanah Innphone: +1 940 663-5407address: 1100 11th St
Casa Royale Innphone: +1 940 663-6341address: 1500 W 11th St
- Copper Breaks State Park is just south on Texas Route 6, offering camping, hiking and a couple of lakes.
- Medicine Mound Museum, about 4 miles south on farm road 1167 east of town. Medicine Mound, a Texas ghost town located east of the mounds themselves, saw its last residents in the 1950s but has an interesting museum housed in one of the original buildings.