Its current location on the banks of a tributary of the Vaza Barris River dates from 1607, and the majority of its monuments were built after the destruction the town suffered from the Dutch invasion of 1637. Reconstruction began in 1645, and the main architectural heritage sites date from this period.
Christ the Redeemer StatueConstructed on the base of the 16th-century São Gonçalo Chapel.
Conjunto do CarmoComplex of churches and a convent.
Igreja e Convento de São FranciscoBuilt in 1693, it houses the country's third most important Sacred Art Museum.
Igreja Matriz de Nossa Senhora da VitóriaBuilt in 1608.
Igreja de Nossa Senhora do Rosário dos Homens Pretos
Santa Casa da MisericórdiaBuilt in the 17th century.
Palácio Provincial19th-century palace that houses the Historical Museum.
Sobradophone: +55 79 3261-1310address: Praça da Matriz, 40