Sourced from Wikivoyage. Text is available under the CC-by-SA 3.0 license.
Noriah Jane Lambayan

SOCCSKSARGEN (pronounced like socks-sarjen) is also officially known as Region XII and is in central Mindanao.
The name is an acronym for the region's four provinces and one of its cities: South Cotabato, Cotabato, Sultan Kudarat, Sarangani and General Santos City. This region is often known by its older name Central Mindanao. The regional center is Koronadal City located in the province of South Cotabato. Cotabato City, although geographically within the boundaries of the province of Maguindanao, is part of SOCCSKSARGEN and is independent of Maguindanao province. (Maguindanao province is a part of the Autonomous Region in Muslim Mindanao (ARMM) which has its seat in Cotabato City. SOCCSKSARGEN and the province of Maguindanao were once part of the original Cotabato province.


Get in

Stay safe