Salzburg (state)

Sourced from Wikivoyage. Text is available under the CC-by-SA 3.0 license.
Paulo Maurício
Salzburg (German: Salzburg or Salzburgerland) is one of the smaller provinces of Austria. It has an area of about 7,100 km² and there are 500,000 people. Most of the area is covered by the Alps and only the northern part is flat. There you can find the largest city and capital of the state, Salzburg. The most important forms of income are tourism and agriculture. The arts are an important part of the Salzburger tradition: home to Mozart, the annual Salzburg Festival, and the mystery play Jedermann (Everyman). Salzburg province also shares much of its rural regional and provincial culture with neighboring Bavaria and Tyrol. This makes it a wonderful place to experience both the high culture of the Mozart era and the true alpine Austrian culture at its purest.