Rang Ghar (Assamese: ৰং ঘৰ, rong ghor) (meaning "Amusement House") is a two-storied building, which was the royal sports-pavilion from which the Ahom kings and nobles witnessed games like buffalo fights and other sports at the Rupahi Pathar (pathar meaning field in Assamese) specially during Rangali Bihu festival in the Ahom capital, Rangpur. On the roof of the Rang Ghar is a design of an Ahom royal long boat. The building was constructed during the reign of Swargadeo Pramatta Singha in 1746. It is north east to the Talatal Ghar a multi-storied royal complex in Joysagar west of Sivasagar town, on the other side of the Assam Trunk (AT) Road in Sibsagar district in Assam.
The Rang Ghar is said to be the oldest amphitheater in Asia. The base of the monument has a series of arched entrances and atop the roof is a decorative pair of carved stone crocodiles. In many of these, only the brick framework exists with vestiges of sculptural adornments here and there. The Ahoms, who used special thin baked bricks, did not have the use of cement and, therefore, used a paste of rice and eggs as mortar for their construction.
Built by Rajeswara Singha (AD 1751-1769). All the rooms were connected with small passages. Talatal ghar had three storeys underground and four storeys above ground. The remains of this palace is standing tall in Sivasagar town. Though top levels of the palace having wooden works are completely destroyed. All the rooms were connected with small passages. Similarly the underground levels are closed for tourists. Bortop (guns) preserved in Talatal Ghar.
- Brahmaputra Hotel, opposite bus stand.
phone: +91 98592 87203address: Arunodoi Path, Boarding Road
Brahmaputra Hoteladdress: Opposite Bus Stand
Raj Palace Hoteladdress: AT Road, Station Charali
Prashaanti Tourist Lodgephone: +91 772 222394address: SivasagarThe lodge is operated by Department of Tourism and Assam Tourism Development Corporation Limited.