South Tangerang

Sourced from Wikivoyage. Text is available under the CC-by-SA 3.0 license.
South Tangerang (Tangerang Selatan) is a city in the province of Banten, and part of the Jabodetabek Greater Jakarta metropolitan area. South Tangerang is not a city in the traditional sense, but is a densely populated urban area consisting of several towns and Jakarta suburbs, that together became an independent city in 2008, when it was separated from the regency of Tangerang. The independent city of Tangerang is just north of South Tangerang. The total population of South Tangerang is about 1.5 million, with key population centres including Serpong, Ciputat, and Pamulang. Also the large privately-operated planned community BSD City is in the city.


Get in

Get around





Go next