Spilimbergo is in Friuli-Venezia Giulia.
Spilimbergo gained great splendour during the Middle Ages and the Renaissance periods. Both. the emperor Charles V. and the French King Henri III stayed in the town.
Distances to/from Spilimbergo: Rome 625 km, Milan 265 km, Pordenone 33 km,Udine 30 km,
- Castle: The history of the castle is related to the Lords of Spilimbergo, who were the most powerful in this area and were “ministriales” (officials) of the Patriarch of Aquileja. In 1511 the castle was set to fire during upheavals. Only the frescoes of the Palazzo Dipinto (Painted Palace) could be saved. Today the castle gives the impression of residential buildings partly surrounded by a deep moat and partly rising sheer to the Tagliamento river. On the left hand side of the courtyard are the Palazzo Tadea from 1566, the Palazzo Ciriani with some frescoes of the 16th cent. and the Palazzo Troilo (16th cent.). On the right hand side is the Palazzo Dipinto (Painted Palace). The frescoes on the façade represent horses and grooms, theological items and the cardinal virtues. The frescoes are attributed to Andrea Brunello (15th cent.).
- Cathedral: The building was begun in 1284, incorporating parts of the old city walls. The main entrance on the Northern side was sculptured by Zenone da Campione. It is called the Moorish Door and was the entrance of the Lords of Spilimbergo. The main Western façade has seven characteristic rosettes, a feature that is unique in Friuli. The interior consist of a nave and two aisles separated by pillars decorated with frescoes. In the left aisle are the altar of St.Andrew with a painting by Guiseppe Heinz the Younger, representing the martyrdom of the saint, the altar of St. John the Baptist and a representation of the crucifixion. In the right aisle are the altar of St. Francis with a painting by Palma the Younger, dating back to the 17th cent., the chapel of the Carmine with sculptures by Pilaforte and the chapel of the Rosary with paintings by Gaspare Narvesa (late 16th – early 17th cent.). The organ is decorated with boards and paintings by Giovanni Pilaforte from 1525. The frescoes in the apses date back to the 14th cent. The central apse is completely decorated with scenes from the Old and New Testament on the walls, the Doctors of the Church and the Evangelists on the vaults. In the apse on the right is a baptismal font by Pilaforte from 1492.
- Palazzo di Sopra and Borgo Valbruna: In the 16th cent. the palace was the home of the Parteniana Academy. A humanistic school founded by Bernardino Partenio and supported by Count Adriano of Spilimbergo. The present building is the result of renewals in the 16th and 17th cent. Part of the original decoration of the façade with a tromope-d’oeil, mythological. Historical and floral themes has been preserved. The counts of Spilimbergo were owners of the palazzo until 1920. Today it is the city’s Town Hall. It is located in Valbruna, the typical borgo (village) of the early Middle Ages with unique lower class houses, little lanes and inner courtyards.
phone: +39 0427 2077address: Via Coorridoni. 6
- Carnival, the second last Sunday of Carnival
- European Savours, May, gastronomic, folk art and music exhibition
- Spilimbegro photography, from July onwards, photo shows by CRAF (Centre for Research and Photo Filing)
- Folkest. end of July, international folk festival
- La Macia, August 13 to 16, historical re-creation in 16th cent period costumes, üalio of Our Lady the Assumption, medieval dinner, old taverns, Renqaissance atmosphere
- Mosaic & Mosaics, exhibition of works of the students of the Mosaic School
- San Rocco Fair, August 15 and 16, craftsmanship and hobby market
- Enjoy the Savour of Ancient Tastes, from October onwards, market of typical products
- Christmas in Spilimbergo, December
phone: +39 042 750555address: piazza Castello 8Reservation recommended
Osteria da Afroaddress: via Umberto I 14
phone: +39 0427 2274address: Palazzo Trollo, Corte Castello