The Lothians

Sourced from Wikivoyage. Text is available under the CC-by-SA 3.0 license.
The Lothians is the collective name for the three counties of Midlothian, East Lothian and West Lothian in the Central Belt of Scotland. They're all lowland in nature, heavily populated around Edinburgh, and bounded to the north by the Firth of Forth, to the south by the Lammermuir hills. In ancient times Lothian was a province of Northumbria, becoming part of Scotland in 973 AD. There are half-a-dozen plausible sources for the name, which means no-one knows.

Cities, towns and villages

Get in

Get around





Stay safe

Go next