TongerenFlemish region of Belgium.
Christianity made its appearance during the arrival of St. Marternus who converted the region. At the end of the fourth century, the city was destroyed by the Alans and in 450 BC again by the Huns. St. Gongulfus rebuilt the city in 600 BC. During the Middle Ages Tongeren was an important city in the diocese of Liege. Unfortunately, the city was involved in many regional wars during that time. The great city fire in 1677, deliberately caused by French troops, was a sad bottom. Between 1794 and 1814 Tongeren was again occupied by French armies. In 1815 it became part of the province of Limburg within the United Kingdom of the Netherlands. After the separation of Belgium in 1830 Tongeren became part of the Belgian province of Limburg.
phone: +32 12 800070address: Via Julianus 5
By carEast from Maastricht 18km over N79.
South from Liège 31km over E313.
North from Hasselt 29km over E313.
West from Sint-Truiden 22km over N79.
By trainHourly trains from Liège Guillemins take 40 minutes to reach Tongeren. Trains also run hourly from Brussels, taking one hour 50 minutes.
On footTongeren is a relatively small city, easy to navigate by foot to the major attractions.
phone: +32 12 39 40 34address: Grote MarktOne of the most beautiful medieval monuments in the world. Built in Gothic style in the 13th century, where recent excavations have produced some of the richest archaeological finds in Flanders. Archaeological excavations have proven the presence of an edifice here starting from the 4th century, while a Carolingian prayer house existed here in the 9th century. The building of the choir of the present basilica began in 1240. Nave, transepts and side chapels were added between the 13th and 15th century. The original Romanesque tower was replaced by the present, 64 meters tall Gothic tower from 1442 until 1541. The basilica's interior is home to the statue of Our Lady of Tongeren, executed in 1475. The treasury is housed in the former hall of the Chapter and comprises one of the richest collections of religious art in Belgium. The basilica has excellent acoustics and is often used for symphony concerts.
Statue of Ambiorixaddress: Grote MarktThe fearsome leader of the Eburons, which was a tribe that defeated two of Caesar's legions in 54 B.C. Nowadays Ambiorix is one of the most famous characters in Belgian history.
Roman WallsThe original Roman wall, dating from the 2nd century, still visible on more than 1,500 meters. You will also notice some of the medieval defensive towers that are still visible today.
St. Catherina's BéguinageThe béguinage is founded in 1257 and is one of the oldest in Flanders. In the second half of the 16th century escalated the rivalry between Catholics and Protestants in which the possessions of the Beguines were looted and destroyed. In the 17th century the béguinage came to an unprecedented boom and the Beguines became wealthy. The wooden houses were replaced by stone ones. Its heyday was at the beginning of the 18th century. The béguinage counted nearly 100 homes and more than 300 Beguines. In the 19th century it was opened up and became a whole with the rest of the town. Since 1998 it is listed as a UNESCO World Heritage Site.
Romeinse kloostergangOn the east side of the basilica is the Romanesque cloister from the 12th century. This was enlarged in the early 13th century and rebuilt in its present form. The vertically placed tombstones, as well as the corner chapels on the east side, dating from later periods. Between the cloister and the entrance to the church is a Romanesque statue of Christ from the 11th century.
Town hall and belfryThe town hall is built between 1737 and 1750 in classical style. It is not open to visitors, but the belfry tower is a .
phone: +32 12 213259address: Onder de Linde 12The museum is located in an authentic Beguine house that dates from 1660.
phone: +32 12 670332address: Kielenstraat 15Houses Celtic gold, Roman glassware, Merovingian filigree work, and the dodecahedron (12-facet ball), an unusual Gallo-Roman object found during excavations which nobody knows what it represents or was used for.
Moerenpoortphone: +32 12 800070The Moerenpoort (Moeren Gate or Tower) is the only remaining medieval city gate. The gate is recently restored and is open to the public.
AntiquesMarketaddress: Main squaresThe selection of antiques and brocante (vintage goods and collectibles) draws people from all over the country.
phone: +32 12 635270address: Maastrichterstraat/Via JulianusThis shopping center with an area of 7795 sqm accommodates 24 shops.
phone: +32 12 26 42 77address: Sint-Truidenstraat 25
phone: +32 12 21 33 24address: Kloosterstraat 1
phone: +32 12 26 29 50address: Veemarkt 2
phone: +32 12 44 10 44address: St. Ursulastraat 11
phone: +32 12 213198address: Grote Markt 17Grand café.
't Gerechtshofphone: +32 12 742078address: Vrijthof 1
't Sweertphone: +32 12 394242address: De Schiervelstraat 3
't Wit Paardphone: +32 12 239172address: Sint-Truiderstraat 58
phone: +32 12 23 93 02address: Grote Markt 7
phone: +32 12 697777address: Kloosterstraat 7A recently refurbished classic 19th-century mansion. The hotel has 7 rooms. The Bazilik restaurant belongs to this hotel. Breakfast is not included.
phone: +32 12 230199address: De Schiervelstraat 10
phone: +32 476 987070address: Hondsstraat 17Studios and apartments.