Stalinist architecture (monumental Soviet classicism) dominates in the city centre. Once the bolsheviks had taken power in Dnipro the city was gradually purged of tsarist-era monuments and monumental architecture was stripped of Imperial coats of arms and other non-socialist symbolism. In 1917, a monument to Catherine the Great that stood in front of the Mining Institute was replaced with one of Russian academic Mikhail Lomonosov. Later, due to damage from the Second World War, a number of large buildings were reconstructed. The main railway station, for example, was stripped of its Russian-revival ornamentation and redesigned in the style of Stalinist social-realism, whilst the Grand Hotel Ukraine survived the war but was later simplified much in design, with its roof being reconstructed in a typical French mansard style as opposed to the ornamental Ukrainian baroque of the pre-war era. Other badly damaged buildings were, more often than not, demolished completely and replaced with new structures. This is one of the main reasons why much of Dnipro central avenue, Dmytra Yavornytskoho Prospekt, is designed in the style of Stalinist Social Realism. Many pre-revolution buildings were also reconstructed to suit new purposes. For example, the Emperor Nicholas II Commercial Institute in Dnipro was reconstructed to serve as the administrative centre for the Dnipropetrovsk Oblast, a function it fulfils to this day. Other buildings, such as the Potemkin Palace were given over to the proletariat, in this case as the students' union of the Dnipro National University. - Stalinist architecture blends with the post-modernism of Dnipro's 'Passage' shopping and entertainment centre.
After the 1950s, the industrialisation of Dnipro became even more profound, with the Southern (Yuzhne) Missile and Rocket factory being set up in the city. However, this was not the only development and many other factories, especially metallurgical and heavy-manufacturing plants, were set up in the city. At this point Dnipro became one of the most important manufacturing cities in the Soviet Union, producing many goods from small articles like screws and vacuum cleaners to aircraft engine pieces and ballistic missiles. As a result of all this industrialisation the city's inner suburbs became increasingly polluted and were gradually given over to large, unsightly industrial enterprises. At the same time the estensive development of the city's left bank and western suburbs as new residential areas began. The low-rise tenant houses of the Khrushchev era (Khrushchyovkas) gave way to the construction of high-rise prefabricated apartment blocks (similar to German Plattenbaus). In 1976 in line with the city's 1926 renaming a large monumental statue of Grigoriy Petrovsky was placed on the square in front of the city's station. To this day the city is characterised by its mix of architectural styles, with much of the city's centre consisting of pre-revolutionary buildings in a variety of styles, stalinist buildings and constructivist architecture, whilst residential districts are, more often than not, made up of aesthetically simple, technically outdated mid-rise and high-rise housing stock from the Soviet era. Despite this, the city does have a large number of 'private sectors' were the tradition of building and maintaining individual detached housing has continued to this day. Since the independence of Ukraine in 1991 and the economic development that followed, a number of large commercial and business centres have been built in the city's outskirts.
GeographyThe city is built mainly upon the both banks of the Dnieper, at its confluence with the Samara River. The area the city is built on is mainly devoid of hills and other geographical features. Being mainly flat, the land is easy to use, which explains why the city has been able to grow to such a great extent over the past 200 years. Whilst most residential, commercial, and industrial districts of the city are along the less marshy south bank of the river, some residential, commercial, and industrial areas have developed on the previously less-hospitable northern bank. Subdivisions: Amur-Nyzhnodniprovskyi, Shevchenkivskyi Sobornyi, Industrialnyi, Tsentralnyi, Chechelivskyi, Novokodatskyi, Samarskyi.
ClimateDuring the summer, Dnipro is very warm (average day temperature in July is 24 to 28 °C (75 to 82 °F), even hot sometimes 32 to 36 °C (90 to 97 °F). Temperatures as high as 36 °C (97 °F) have been recorded in May. Winter is not so cold (average day temperature in January is −4 to 0 °C (25 to 32 °F) but when there is no snow and the wind blows hard, it feels extremely cold. A mix of snow and rain happens usually in December. The best time for visiting the city is in late spring — late April and May and early in autumn: September and October, when the city's trees turn yellow. Other times are mainly dry with a few showers.
Bus Stationphone: +380 56 778 4090address: Vulitsa Kurchatova 10Avtolux and Gunsel (Гюнсел) run buses from/to Kiev.
Dnipro South Station
Dnipropetrovsk International Airportphone: +380 56 2 39-59-99DNK is served by Ukrainian and international airlines. As of 2017, scheduled flights are Austrian Airlines from Vienna, Ukraine International from Kiev-Boryspil and Tel Aviv and Dniproavia from Kiev-Boryspil, Lviv and Tblisi. Wind Rose also flies to various charter destinations.
By boatThere are reports about ferries that go down the Dnieper from Kiev.
There is a network of trams and marshutkas that go around the city. Trams cost 4 грн, and marshutkas cost 7 грн.
Prospekt Dmytra YavornytskohoThis links the two major architectural ensembles of the city and constitutes an important thoroughfare through the centre, which along with various suburban radial road systems, provides some of the area's most vital transport links for both suburban and inter-urban travel. Take a walk in the new European square and visit the beautifully painted town cathedral before taking a walk down the main boulevard to the military museum and the monument with a beautiful view over the Dnieper river. - There is also Historical Museum, Diorama “Battle for the Dnieper River (Second World War)”, Shevchenko Park, and Potemkin Palace nearby.
Preobrazhensky Cathedralphone: +380 56 744 88 19address: Soborna Square, 1The oldest cathedral in Dnipro. Catherine the Great, Austrian Emperor Joseph II, and prince Grigory Potemkin put its first stone on May 9, 1787. The first plan of the cathedral was made by a French architect Claude Geruax. Its building was postponed because of the Russo-Turkish War. The second plan of the cathedral was designed by Ivan Starov, a famous Russian architect from St. Petersburg and approved by Catherine the Great in 1792. Building of the cathedral was completed only during the reign of Nicholas I of Russia (Catherine’s grandson) in 1835. In 1950s it was proved that the final plan of the cathedral was designed by Andreyan Zakharov who was a chief architect of the Admiralty in St. Petersburg. In 1975 – 1988 the cathedral functioned as the museum of religion and atheism. Nowadays it functions as a cathedral and is open to public. In front of the cathedral is a beautiful rose garden.
ChurchSviato-Pokrovs'kaaddress: Klubna str., 34
Saint Nicholas churchaddress: Zhelyabova str., 31Built in 2010 on the site, after the Revolution lost shrine, Saint Nicholas Church, which built in 1896. The temple was once one of the largest and most beautiful in the city. However, in 1937 the church was burned.
Trinity Churchaddress: Yurydychna str.,1
Church of Icon of Our Lady Ivers'kaaddress: Semaforna, 60On the spot where now stands The temple ensemble, in the old days was an ancient settlement - Settlement Old Smara, which was built near the fort Novobogoroditskaya. Temple - a beautiful building - red brick, with marble altar and a white marble throne. To create an iconostasis used earlier does not apply to Orthodox culture pink onyx gemstone, which was brought from Iran. In the decoration of the temple there is no brightness, pathos and luxury, just a quiet dignity. Rector of the church - Father Nicholas, a man is truly amazing!
Saint Mykolaiv churchaddress: Zhovtenyat str., 108The oldest temple of the city. The stone church was built in the classical style in New Kodak instead existed from 1650 wooden church Cossack. Phillips, a highly elongated and western branch of the semi-circular apse, with a small square extensions. The interior of the temple are preserved paintings of the twentieth century. One-dome church with a bell tower, kept in a stone line of Wooden Architecture. Among the ancient shrines of the temple are relics of Archbishop Theodosius and St. Lawrence Chernigov.
Exaltation of the Cross? ChurchThe oldest temple of the regional center
Bryansk churchaddress: Kalinina ave., 66"Bryansk" - under the name of the area (Bryansk colony). This is three-storey building with bell tower and with a towerclock. Built in neoclassical style, with abundant decoration. Because of the size and grandeur of this church is able to compete with the major temples of the city - the Transfiguration, the Assumption and Trinity. After Revolution it was transformed by an organ hall. In 1988 he opened in Dnipro "The House of Organ and Chamber Music," which operates to this day.
Holy Prince Vladimir Church?address: Ave. Vokzalna, 4
Baptists Churchaddress: Antonovycha str., 71
Holy Trinity Cathedraladdress: Troitska sq., 7It was built on the site of the first urban church in honor of Our Lady of Kazan. There are some ancient relics: the iconostasis of the church of the Kazan and the tomb of St. Nicholas (Bryansk) Cathedral. In 1934 the church was closed "for lack of parishioners." Dropped bells, tore the crosses. In the enclosure of the temple have placed numerous shops, workshops, warehouses. In November 1941, during the German occupation, the cathedral resumed archiepiscopal chair and worship. Today it is the central church of the Diocese of Dnipropetrovsk Ukrainian Orthodox Church.
Holy Tikhvin conventaddress: Chicherina str., 171This is the only monastery that is located in the city. In 1866 this place was founded the predecessor of the monastery - Ekaterinoslavskaya female community, and in 1877 he erected the first church of the monastery - St. Barbara, and the female community was renamed in Tikhvin convent.
Shrine of St. Catherine Lutheran Churchaddress: Prospekt Dmytra Yavornytskoho 103This was founded In 1852 in Yekaterinoslav (former name of Dnipro). Built between 1865 and 1866. 1941 - The Germans was restored and service resumed. Later with the arrival of the Red Army's this religious community house was closed.
Church of St. Josephaddress: Prospekt Dmytra Yavornytskoho 91This Roman Catholic Church is built in the 1900s
Minor Synagogueaddress: Kotsiubinskogo str., 7This can rightly be called one of the wonders of Dnipro. This was saved only synagogue. The building is the old synagogue in May 1998 was granted the yeshiva. After all, Jewish tradition prohibits lowering the sanctity of anything. And if a hundred years the walls of the building heard the prayers and Torah reading, they can not suddenly become the walls of the shop or office. Yeshiva - a place where not only pray, a place where all day, with half of the seven in the morning until half past seven in the evening, learn Torah, here Soifer learn to write sacred texts. Thus, the old synagogue building continues to serve the holy purpose.
Golden Rose Choral Synagogueaddress: Sholom Aleikhema str., 4Founded in the 1800s. After the October Revolution in 1920, "at the request of workers of the Jews" settled here first Jewish Workers' Club, and then - used for Volodarsky cultural garment factory building. - After the separation of Ukraine from Russia Choral Synagogue "Golden Rose" is especially proud of today's Jews of Dnipro. The name "Golden Rose" folk, but now - "Touray Zahav" (the name of the main work of David Halevy, a commentary on "Shurhan Aruch"). David Halevywas the author of the ritual code, and, as he often prayed here, and that the synagogue was named in honor of his work. Over time, the value of the name has been forgotten, and it began to pronounce as "Touray Reizl" ("Golden Rose").
St. Nicholas ChurchThis is a white church with a golden dome, which is perfectly visible from various points of observation, has become a recognized symbol of Dnipro. According to legend, in 870 by Byzantine monks in the Monastery was founded by the island monastery, and in 957 they hid from the weather traveling companion Princess Olga, who was with her and Bishop Gregory allegedly founded a church on the island.
Spaso-Preobrazhensky Cathedraladdress: Oktyabr'skaya sq., 15AThis is a true gem and a great shrine of the Dnipropetrovsk region. After WW2, dilapidated church into a warehouse of paper publishing, "Zorya". In 1975-1988 the temple housed the Museum of Religion and Atheism. In 1992 the church was handed over to the Ukrainian Orthodox Church. Try to hear the songs performed by the best church choir Dnipropetrovsk diocese.
Temple of Icon of the Divine motheraddress: Mandrykovska str., 113The church was rebuilt in 2007, in the Ukrainian Baroque style. The temple complex consists of a church in honor of the Mother of God "in the grief and sorrow consolation," and memorial to the dead inhabitants of the city. Commemorative stela set up in the form of granite towers and a half meters and a bronze composition, where the two angels holding hands on the body of the deceased child. On the granite slab inscribed with the names of all 23 victims.
Saint Panteleimon churchaddress: Petrova Kombriga str., 10The project is a new church resembles a famous temple of the Protection-in-Nerl, which built according to legend, Prince Andrew Bogolyubsky in 12th century. The temple will have impressive dimensions (45-m high)
address: Prospekt Dmytra Yavornytskoho
Monument of Gloryaddress: Prospekt Dmytra YavornytskohoWar monument overlooking the Dnieper river.
Botanical gardenaddress: Gagarina ave (пр. Гагаріна, 72)- Place for the future of the garden has been chosen before the revolution - in the southwestern part of the city's main hill (the Cathedral Mountain), in the steppes near the Town villas, which stretched several miles almost to the current substations. Opened in 1930. During the war, the garden was completely destroyed and had to rebuild it from scratch. Part of the former territory was ceded to Gagarin park and some - for building the campus of the University.
Gagarin parkaddress: Gagarina ave (пр. Гагаріна, 72а)
Shevchenko parkIf you get time it's worth visiting the island parks on the Dnieper. Here you can enjoy some relatively clean air, take a quiet stroll in the center of the city, pick up an ice cream or beer, and take a ride on some of the features of the old Soviet-style funfair.
Monastic IslandA memorial cross in honor of the Byzantine monks built at Cape Nicholas Church (1999). From Soviet times, there is a monument to Taras Shevchenko, open zoo, and children's amusement park.
Comedy and Drama Theatre in Dnipro
For a quick meal get a schwarma, there is a great place in the city center.
Amphora Cafeaddress: Prospekt Dmytra Yavornytskoho and FurmanovaGreek cuisine.
Italian Quarteraddress: Kharkivska 3Italian cuisine. Good pizza.
Miminoaddress: Sicheslavska naberezhnaExcellent service and friendly staff, nice food with views overlooking the river. On many afternoons and evenings there is a live band. Very nice atmosphere.
address: 46 Prospekt Dmytra YavornytskohoTrendy cafe in the city center. Check the origin of their name, it is unusual.
Nirvanaaddress: Globy ParkAuthentic Georgian cuisine with both indoor and outdoor tables.
Puzata Hataaddress: Liebknecht / Marx str.Ukrainian national cuisine. A vast range of meals.
address: Prospekt Dmytra Yavornytskoho 41Irish cuisine
Mid-rangeHotel Dnipropetrovsk. Along the embankment and close to the city center, address 33 Naberezhna.
Rooms "economy-class" on the 6th floor in 1970ss style, and all furniture not maintained, looks very old and ugly.
phone: +38 056 7901441address: Korolenka ul. 2
- Kamianske - a major industrial center near Dnipro.
- Gulyaypole - the city during the Civil War, the former biggest village in Ukraine (by population) and the capital of Makhno.
- Henichesk is a popular resort at Azov Sea
- Mariupol, 200 km to the southeast, is a climatic and mud resort and part of the Pryazovia area.
- Zaporizhia, 60 km to the southeast, is the center of Zaporozhye region, part of the Dnieper Ukraine area.