Harry Potter tourism

Sourced from Wikivoyage. Text is available under the CC-by-SA 3.0 license.
Harry Potter is a series of fantasy novels, written by J. K. Rowling, and made into a series of eight films from 2001 to 2011.
The Harry Potter stories are set in a fictional variant of the United Kingdom, where some locations are inaccessible or invisible to muggles (people without magical abilities).
It is possible to visit many of the places that inspired the books. The series was filmed in a variety of locations around the UK at the behest of J.K. Rowling.
Starting from 2016, a new prequel film series entitled Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them is being made, with J. K. Rowling herself making her screenwriting debut for the series. The first film in the series went on to win an Academy Award for Best Costume Design, achieving what had eluded all eight films in the original series (which received a total of 12 Oscar nominations, but never won).

Themed attractions

Film locations

Edinburgh inspiration


See also