Lower Normandy

Sourced from Wikivoyage. Text is available under the CC-by-SA 3.0 license.
Lower Normandy (French: Basse-Normandie) comprises the western half of Normandy in northern France.
Administratively, the region was divided into three departments whose borders are shown on the map: Manche on the west, Calvados east of that along the coast, and Orne inland on the south side. The northern part of Manche is the Cotentin Peninsula, also called the Cherbourg Peninsula,
This part of France saw intense fighting during the Second World War; the D-Day beaches, where the Allies landed in June 1944, are along the coast in Calvados, and the fighting soon extended to other parts of the region.


Other destinations


Get in

Get around


Go next