Torres Strait Islands

Sourced from Wikivoyage. Text is available under the CC-by-SA 3.0 license.
Feral Arts

The Torres Strait Islands are a group of islands to the north of the Australian mainland stretching nearly as far as Papua New Guinea. There are 14 inhabited islands, but only the two neighbouring islands of Thursday Island and Horn Island have developed visitor facilities. These two islands are the most visited, and have regular scheduled air and ferry connections. The other islands are left to the more intrepid voyager or those with business with the indigenous communities. To visit as a tourist, plan ahead, including gaining permission from the island Chairman. Scheduled light aircraft, helicopter, water-taxis, barges and private boats allow access to all this inhabited islands, or even the possibility of spending a day or night on an entirely uninhabited island.

Islands and Island Regions



Get in

Get around






Stay healthy


Stay safe

Go next