East Midlands

Sourced from Wikivoyage. Text is available under the CC-by-SA 3.0 license.
Simon Harrod
The East Midlands, in its broadest sense, is the eastern part of central England. The region is bordered by Yorkshire to the north, the North Sea to the east, East Anglia to the south-east, South East England to the south and the West Midlands to the west.
It is made up of five counties, which share common characteristics which distinguish the region from other parts of the country whilst also having their own distinct identities. Visitors are attracted to the East Midland's diverse offerings - ranging from the beautiful Peak District and wild woodlands to cosmopolitan urban centres and fascinating history.
The heart of England, the region gives visitors a friendly welcome (don't be surprised to be greeted with a jolly "ey up me duck" from a local!) and a chance to glimpse what England is like off the typical tourist trail. But don't let anyone suggest that the East Midlands doesn't have big attractions - it includes the birthplace of the Industrial Revolution, one of only four copies of the Magna Carta, a stunning National Park, beautiful country villages and world-famous food all in one region.


Cities and towns

Other destinations


Get in

Get around





Go next